Skip to content

Planning a dress

February 23, 2015

That I’ve even started making already, in fact, it’s taken me so long to get up to writing about it. I thought I’d better get my key links down to make actually writing about it all quicker and easier later.

A 16th century dress to work in the kitchen in (and to match most of the rest of the abbotsfordian women in, too, I’m a late adopted).

So the picture I would most like to look like is this one:

But then I found two other pictures with basically the same outfit – similar enough that I wonder if it actually is the same person, or at least the same clothes. The faces of the two Beuckelaer ones are similar enough they could be the same (and they’re the same idea too – complete with baby as accessory). Maybe this woman modelled for Aertsen too? Certainly similar enough to get some triangulation on the cut and fit and accessories of the outfit.

But what’s under the jacket? Planning to take this one as the model for the bits I can’t see in the other pictures:

I’ve started reading this, to get a sense of what the pictures are meant to be doing: http://www.amazon.com/Peasant-Scenes-Landscapes-Pictorial-Antwerp/dp/0812222113/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1424676275&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=peasant+scenes+and+landscaptes

I obviously need to see if there’s a copy of this book anywhere local and, sigh, buy it if not.

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/171370020/textiel-in-context-book-by-hanna

And now off to get some help fitting the bodice.

Additions

24/2/15

On the topic of what’s going on with the paintings, this article is useful too:

Günter Irmscher, ‘Ministrae voluptatum: Stoicizing Ethics in the Market and Kitchen Scenes of Pieter Aertsen and Joachim Beuckelaer’ Simiolus: Netherlands Quarterly for the History of Art Vol. 16, No. 4 (1986), pp. 219-232. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3780642

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

